Mt. Kosciuszko


Mountain Range


Hike Miles

Elevation Gain

Hike Days

Snowy Mountains
7,310 ft

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.”

Why This Peak?

Mt. Kosciuszko is the highest peak in Australia.


Peak & Route Facts

Mount Kosciuszko is a mountain located on the Main Range of the Snowy Mountains in Kosciuszko National Park, part of the Australian Alps National Parks and Reserves, in New South Wales, Australia and is located west of Crackenback and close to Jindabyne. With a height of 2,228 metres (7,310 ft) above sea level, it is the highest mountain in mainland Australia.

The hike will is a little over 12 miles with over 1,500′ of ascent. The trail starts at Charlotte Pass. The trail passes over the Snowy River bridge (about 2.7 miles) and Seamans Hut (about 3.6 miles). Here is a chance to use the highest toilet in Australia! Then on to Rawson’s Pass which takes you to the summit. The trail is well maintained and easy to walk.


Historical and Cultural Information

Australia officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. It is the world’s sixth-largest country by total area. The neighbouring countries are Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and East Timor to the north; the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu to the north-east; and New Zealand to the south-east. Australia’s capital is Canberra, and its largest urban area is Sydney.

For about 50,000 years before the first British settlement in the late 18th century, Australia was inhabited by indigenous Australians, who spoke languages classifiable into roughly 250 groups. After the European discovery of the continent by Dutch explorers in 1606, Australia’s eastern half was claimed by Great Britain in 1770 by James Cook and initially settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales from 26 January 1788.

The population grew steadily in subsequent decades, and by the 1850s most of the continent had been explored and an additional five self-governing crown colonies established. A gold rush began in Australia in the 1850s.

On 1 January 1901, the six colonies federated, forming the Commonwealth of Australia. Australia has since maintained a stable liberal democratic political system that functions as a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy comprising six states and several territories. The current monarch is Queen Elizabeth II and the current prime minister is Malcolm Turnbull. The population of 24 million is highly urbanised and heavily concentrated on the eastern seaboard. The final constitutional ties between Australia and the UK were severed with the passing of the Australia Act 1986, ending any British role in the government of the Australian States, and closing the option of judicial appeals to the Privy Council in London.


Summit: March 5th

Book Club Read

Eat, Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Buy on Amazon!